E-cigarettes puffing trend shared by teenagers in Kansas City

posted Apr 20, 2015, 11:41 AM by Scott Lemmon

Applications for Pre-Med Summer Programs

posted Mar 4, 2015, 8:10 PM by Scott Lemmon

The Office of Cultural Enhancement and Diversity (OCED) at KUMC School of Medicine is happy to announce that applications for Pre-Med Summer Programs are now open.

The mission of OCED Summer Programs is to create academic opportunities to support the development of underrepresented students and their advancement in health related careers.

The programs available are:

Health Science Enrichment Institute I - A six-week summer residency program at KU Lawrence for incoming college Freshmen at any institution that offers instruction in Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry, and English. More information can be found here.

Health Science Enrichment Institute II - A six-week summer residency program at KU Lawrence for college Freshmen & Sophomores that teaches Organic Chemistry, Physics, Calculus and Statistics, as well as critical thinking. More information can be found here .

Pre-Admissions Program - A six-week summer residency program at KU Lawrence for college Juniors & Seniors that provides KAPLAN preparation for the MCAT.  Students will also receive assistance in preparing the AMCAS application and additional information about the medical school admissions process.  More information can be found here.

A flyer for each program is attached for your convenience to copy and distribute to your students.

The programs will provide a generous stipend and will cover room and board and classes.

For additional information about the programs and the Office of Cultural Enhancement and Diversity, visit our website here.

The deadline to apply is March 27, 2015 for all programs.

Please don't hesitate to contact me if you have any additional questions.

Thank you!

Maria Alonso Luaces 
Director of Academic, Professional and Workforce Development
Phone: 913-588-1547

Pamela Scott
Director of Multicultural Affairs 
Phone: 913-945-6402    


Sherry Kennedy

Senior Coordinator

Office of Cultural Enhancement and Diversity

The University of Kansas Medical Center

School of Medicine

G028 Murphy, MS 4007

3901 Rainbow Blvd.

Kansas City, KS  66160


Mid-America Education Hall of Fame Induction

posted Mar 4, 2015, 8:05 PM by Scott Lemmon

The Saturday Academy has been selected for induction into the Mid-America Education Hall of Fame at the 19th annual induction ceremony to be held on Thursday, April 23rd, 2015.  


    Dr. Ed Kremer submitted your name and Saturday Academy was selected from a field of highly qualified organizations. Ed documented the commitment to education, history of working to improve the quality of life in the community, efforts to increase educational opportunities for others, and work to make changes that have improved the quality of education. 


    The Mid-America Education Hall of Fame was established in 1996 by the KCK Community College Endowment Association. Its purpose is to identify and recognize individuals, organizations, and corporate supporters notable for their contributions to education and to provide well deserved recognition to the honorees as well as to education and its impact on our lives. 


Your 2015 fellow inductees are Hannah Loftus, Mila K. Banks, Dr. Cindy Lane, Dr. Shirley Wendel, Carol Levers, and the Learning Club of KCK.  Past inductees include Crosby Kemper III, Carol Marinovich,  John “Buck” O’Neil, Capitol Federal, Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Kansas City, and, J.E. Dunn Construction.

Shortage of Latino Doctors

posted Feb 28, 2015, 8:15 PM by Scott Lemmon   [ updated Feb 28, 2015, 8:15 PM ]

Black History Month

posted Feb 24, 2015, 12:49 PM by Scott Lemmon

"The Academy Way" Newsletter Winter 2015

posted Feb 23, 2015, 12:29 PM by Scott Lemmon   [ updated Feb 23, 2015, 12:30 PM ]

Check out the latest addition of "The Academy Way" Newsletter:

Smile for a Lifetime Application:

posted Dec 18, 2014, 2:35 PM by Scott Lemmon

Smile for a Lifetime Application:

The deadline for the next selection of eight scholarship winners will be December 31st?  In other words, their application packets need to be postmarked by December 31st.  Also, please remind students that students are selected four times each year with the following dates for deadlines:
March 31st
June 30th
September 30th 
December 31st 

1-10 of 31